Home Sport AFLG Club 18’s Welcomes New Clubs

AFLG Club 18’s Welcomes New Clubs

AFL Goldfields is pleased to welcome Yarraville Seddon, Gisborne and the Caroline Springs Football Clubs to the Club 18’s competition for season 2019.

The inclusion of the three clubs takes the competition to seven teams.

The teams in the competition are as follows; Diggers Rest, Wallan, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury Lions, Caroline Springs, Yarraville, Seddon, Gisborne.

Since the introduction of the Club 18 competition in 2017, the number of teams has varied from five in 2017, four in 2018, and now it has jumped to seven in 2019.

The Club 18’s Operations Manager Michael Schang was ecstatic with the rise in the competitions numbers.

“It’s fantastic to see a rise in the number of participating teams in the competition for 2019,” Schang said.

“The concept of the competition allows clubs to provide opportunities to players who may not be getting a game in their Senior/Reserve side, retaining players who would have otherwise walked away from the game and also generating increased revenue for their club.”

Sunbury Lions went back-to-back winning the Club 18 in 2017 and again in 2018 and they will be looking to make it three from three this season.

The fixture is highlighted by a two-week finals fixture format where the first and fourth placed team face off for a spot in the Grand Final, and the second and third placed teams the same.

The Grand Final replay game between the Sunbury Lions and Bacchus Marsh following their Senior match up on the 25th of May is another exciting part of the fixture.