Home Sport Redline Raceway this Saturday

Redline Raceway this Saturday

Dirt track fans can head to Redline Raceway this Saturday night for another dose of high speed action around the dirt banks with the 2018/19 season version of the Speedcar Bill Evans Classic, the headline event of the show along with round two of the Sports Sedan series, giving fans an open wheel and sedan feature for the night.

The Speedcar line-up includes a number of hard chargers including Travis Mills, Andy Pearce, Adam Wallis, Nick Parker whilst you can look right through the field with others capable of the big win Bill Evans Classic win.

Wallis won at Avalon Raceway in Lara last weekend and he has his sight set on a first Evans Classic. Parker returns to defend after winning the 17/18 season Evans Classic back in October and plans on keeping the trophy by the end of Saturday night.

In the Sports Sedan second round of the series, Leigh Bourke is the highest ranked competitor in the field whilst a number of other race drivers will be keen to get what they consider a big win ahead of him. Mick Rizzoli, Jack Van Bremen, Daniel Carter, Dale Smith and Ricky Ashmore are just some of the race drivers who have the speed to keep the pressure on Bourke this weekend.

Supporting action comes from the Street Stocks and Unlimited Sedans. In Street Stock action the local heroes will be at again with Jason Degoldi the man to beat. He has kept compiling club championship points this season and is going to be hard to hold out from the pointy end of the field. Darren Giacometti, Andrew Burgyone, Scott Secombe and Robert Lock are others that are looking to get their hands on one of the top three trophies.

In Unlimited Sedan competition Cameron Impey and Brian Simon have shown some pace in recent race events and they will have their hands full trying to defeat the very fast Peter Cox. Impey and Simon race in eight cylinder cars and Cox has a quick Ford Barra powered race car with terrific set up and power to weight. Mick Purdie returns to action also and Wally Hucker and Ian Page and Tim Williams are all aiming to finish in front of the local club President, importantly for the stories later.

Gates to the public open at 2pm, aiming for a 5pm race meeting start.

Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Belmont Speedway Drivers Club