Home News Election of Golden Plains Shire Mayor

Election of Golden Plains Shire Mayor

Golden Plains Shire Council elected Cr. Owen Sharkey as the Mayor of Golden Plains Shire 2018-19.
At the special meeting, Councillors also elected Cr Joanne Gilbert as the Deputy Mayor of Golden Plains Shire 2018-19.
Cr Sharkey was elected to Golden Plains Shire Council in November 2016 and serves as Council’s representative to the G21 Economic Development Pillar and the Tourism Geelong and the Bellarine Board. He lives with his family in Batesford and works as a real estate agent in Bannockburn.
“As the incoming mayor I will work closely with my fellow councillors and respect the decisions made by our collective votes that determine Council’s direction and decisions,@ he said.
“I am of the opinion that no Councillor nor Mayor should ever use the word ‘I’, after all it is ‘us’ that make the decisions within this chamber and it is this teamwork that will be of most use to our community.”
Mayor Sharkey outlined his commitment to concentrate efforts on several key issues during his 12-month term as Mayor including lobbying State Government for a review of the rating system; working to create better equality with household rates; lobby for improved public transport and health care options across the Shire; continue to work hard for new job creation opportunities and economic development; and stay on top.